7 Wonders of Oregon

The 7 Wonders of Oregon features seven iconic natural wonders of Oregon: the Oregon Coast, Mt. Hood, the Columbia River Gorge, Crater Lake, the Painted Hills, the Wallowas and Smith Rock.

Travel Oregon—the Oregon Tourism Commission— provides information, resources and trip planning tools that inspire travel and enhance visitors’ experiences. The 7 Wonders campaign is meant to encourage travel exploration throughout our entire state.

Smith Rock and the Painted Hills are two great options for a day trip from Bend. At Smith Rock, towers of volcanic ash rise like spires for hiking, climbing and bouldering. Smith Rock also offers mountain biking, river access or an easy day hike with the kids. Best seen in the late afternoon, the Painted Hills get their name from the delicately colored stratifications of yellow, gold, black and red soil.

Once you see them for yourself, it’s pretty easy to understand why Smith Rock and the Painted Hills are two of the 7 Wonders of Oregon.

Looking for some other great outdoor activities in Central Oregon? We’ve got you covered! Here’s some of our most popular outdoor blog posts:

Spectacular Fall Hikes in Central Oregon

Head East to the Oregon Badlands

Winter Bike Rides in Bend

Guided Winter Tours in Bend

Family Winter Escapes


If you’re visiting Bend for our 7 Wonders of Oregon, check out our event calendar for the latest events in Bend. See the full event calendar here.